1889 - INVENTION OF THE BRA

1889

Herminie CADOLLE, after taking part in the revolutionary events during the time of the «Commune de Paris», emigrated to Argentina . She spent several years there , founding the first CADOLLE company , making her fortune, before returning to France. It was during the World Expo of 1889 in Paris (for which the Eiffel Tower was built) that Herminie Cadolle introduced to the world her new invention. She had a simply ingenious idea for women’s comfort a simple garment based on the confort of women, while separating for the first time the traditional corset into two pieces. Herminie had invented the first bra. She applied for a patent and called her creation the “corselet-gorge”. The extraordinary and adventurous Herminie ‘s life is told in a book entitled “THE CADOLLE SAGA“.

1911 - THE RUE CAMBON

1911

Marie Cadolle decided at this time to leave the premises at the Chaussée d’Antin in the Quarter of the Grand Department Stores to set up her business at RUE CAMBON. Other fashion designers who would later become famous, would follow her and thus a new Parisian centre of fashion and elegance would be created. To this day, the house of Cadolle is still an institution there.

1921 - SUZANNE LENGLEN

1921

Marguerite Cadolle was friend with the most celebrated tennis player of the times, Suzanne Lenglen. Together they signed many publicity campaigns for the range of Cadolle perfumes. Always innovative, the house of Cadolle launched the first co-branding with a woman from the sporting world.

1925 - LE BOYISH FIGURE, FOR COCO CHANEL

1925

In that year Marguerite Cadolle launched her first flattening bra for the newly popular “boyish figure”. Then, for the Duchess of Windsor and also for many other famous women of that turbulent time in Europe, she created elegant collections to be worn with the new look in Couture : plunging necklines and more closely tailored and form fitting gowns and dresses. It was in this moment that the “CADOLLE TOUCH ” was launched , marrying the lingerie with Haute-Couture.

1947 - THE WASP WAIST, FOR MARCEL ROCHAS

1947

Alice Cadolle perfected for Monsieur Rochas a new look that tightened at the waist, to coordinate with his new couture look, inspired by the tiny waist of a wasp and named it for the couturier. We’ve come a long way from the bra made of twill ribbons and metal that Herminie had made for the famous spy Mata Hari.

1949 - THE NEIMAN MARCUS AWARD

1949

The prolific creations of the House of Cadolle were crowned by many awards during the period after the war. In 1949, two years after Christian Dior, Alice Cadolle was bestowed with the world’s most celebrated award in the field of fashion at that time : the Neiman Marcus Award, in the United States.

1989 - THE RETURN OF THE CORSET

1989

At a tradeshow in Paris, Poupie Cadolle launched a new type of corset. The use of new modern materials accompanied by a new definition of the female silhouette transformed the old style corset into a comfortable garment, which was no longer constricting. Women immediately set their hearts on this new garment which they had forgotten for 80 years. Almost immediately the corset returned in the Parisienne Haut Couture collections. Fashionistas, celebrities and entertainers were the first to adopt this new symbol of independence, glamour and elegance.

THE YEARS 2010

2010

Alongside the traditional lines that were always scrupulously followed and updated, more lines were added evoking the sentimental seduction . It offered the expression of a spirited woman in her own time : the Geisha line constitutes a change in the story often discreet and elitist of the House. It unveils a woman seductive and taking responsibility for it, with the imprint of the famous “Cadolle Touch”.

1889 - INVENTION DU SOUTIEN-GORGE

1889

Herminie Cadolle, après avoir pris part avec Louise Michel aux évènements révolutionnaires de la Commune de Paris, émigra avec toute sa famille en Argentine. Elle y fonde la première « maison Cadolle » et fait rapidement fortune avant de revenir en France pour y fonder un autre établissement, rue de la Chaussée d’Antin.
C’est au cours de l’exposition universelle de 1889 (celle pour laquelle sera construit la Tour Eiffel) qu’Herminie Cadolle expose sa nouvelle invention : elle venait en effet d’avoir une idée simplement géniale : pour le confort de la femme , elle avait coupé en deux le traditionnel corset féminin : elle venait d’inventer le premier soutien-gorge pour lequel elle dépose un brevet et qu’elle appelle le « corselet-gorge ». La vie extraordinaire de cette femme révolutionnaire à travers le monde est relatée dans un ouvrage sur la Saga Cadolle.

1911 - LA RUE CAMBON

1911

Marie Cadolle décide à cette époque de quitter les locaux de la rue de la chaussée d’Antin et le quartier des grands magasins parisiens pour s’installer rue CAMBON ; d’autre créateurs de mode, qui deviendront célèbres, vont participer à ce mouvement et créer à cette adresse un nouveau pôle parisien de mode et d’élégance De nos jours, la maison Cadolle y fait toujours figure d’institution.

1921 - SUZANNE LENGLEN

1921

Marguerite Cadolle est très amie avec une célèbre joueuse de tennis de l’époque : Suzanne Lenglen ; elles signent ensemble plusieurs campagnes publicitaires pour la ligne des parfums Cadolle. Toujours novatrice, la Maison Cadolle lance ainsi le premier co-branding avec une femme appartenant au monde du sport.

1925 - LE BOYISH FORM, POUR COCO CHANEL

1925

Marguerite crée cette année-là le premier soutien-gorge aplatisseur : le fameux boyish form. Puis, pour la duchesse de Windsor et aussi pour beaucoup d’autre femmes célèbres de cette époque si tourmentée en Europe, elle crée des collections raffinées de lingerie : décolletés vertigineux, robes moulées à l’extrême… : par ses créations foisonnantes elle va créer le premier trait d’union entre le métier de la corsetterie et la Couture : la « touche Cadolle » était née.

1947 - LA GUêPIèrE, POUR MARCEL ROCHAS

1947

Alice Cadolle met au point avec Monsieur Rochas un nouveau serre taille, et lui donne le nom du couturier. Inspirée de la taille fine d’une guêpe, une nouvelle silhouette du corps de la femme est créée avec la « guêpière ». On était désormais bien loin des soutien-gorge en rubans, en coutil et en métal que fabriquait Herminie pour la célèbre espionne Mata Hari.

1949 - LE NEIMAN MARCUS AWARD

1949

De multiples distinctions couronneront les créations foisonnantes de la Maison Cadolle pendant cette période d’après-guerre. En 1949, deux années après Monsieur Christian DIOR, Alice Cadolle obtiendra la plus célèbre distinction mondiale des métiers de la mode de cette époque : le trophée Neiman Marcus, aux Etats-Unis.

1989 - LE RETOUR DU CORSET

1989

A l’occasion d’un salon professionnel à Paris, Poupie Cadolle lance un nouveau type de corset. L’utilisation de nouveaux matériaux modernes associée à une nouvelle définition de la silhouette féminine, transforme l’ancien corset en un véritable vêtement de confort et non plus de contrainte; les femmes s’entichent immédiatement de ce nouveau vêtement qu’elles avaient oublié depuis 80 ans; presque immédiatement le corset fait son retour dans les collections de la Haute Couture parisienne et s’installe dans les garde-robes des stars et fashionatas; le corset s’émancipe de son image d’origine et se réinvente comme une pièce glamour, symbole du raffinement qu’il a toujours représenté.

LES ANNéES 2010

2010

Aux côtés des lignes cultes, toujours scrupuleusement suivies et remises à jour, s’ajoute désormais des lignes davantage orientées vers la séduction. Expression et affirmation d’une femme en accord avec l’esprit de son temps, la ligne Geisha constitue un tournant dans l’histoire souvent discrète et élitique de la Maison : elle dévoile une femme séductrice et s’assumant résolument comme telle, avec l’empreinte de la célèbre « touche Cadolle ».